Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Managing Assembly constraints

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Are there any tips or recommendations for managing the assembly constraints?  I've been using NX for a few years now and it seems like the contraints are far more "fragile" than in other CAD softwares that I've worked with.  If I'm working in a medium size assembly with approx.  30 parts, I might be adding parts and they seem to be constrained OK.  Then I'll add another new part and the contraints get that red x by them.  

It's then difficult for me to see what constraints are interferring with each other, plus stumbling through that long list of all the constraints (and trying to see what part it's referring to) is quite cumbersome.  I've gone through a lot of the on-line training and have worked with assemblies quite extensivelly during these 2 years, but it still seems to be a lot more sensitive than what I'm used to.  Any tips would be helpful.  Thanks

16 REPLIES

Re: Managing Assembly constraints

Gears Phenom Gears Phenom
Gears Phenom

I find the constraints are very precise, sometimes more precise than the components you are assembling.  I don't mean that the data isn't precise, but if you have two faces aligned, and then try to constrain two more faces that look 90°, but one is really 89°, it throws a red X.  NX lacks the 'fuzzy logic' that many other types of software use, which makes them "easy" and "user friendly".

So....when I constrain my components, I think of it like I was taught geometric feature control.  Constrain the primary features, then secondary, and finally tertiary.  Usually before the 3rd, I'll apply, so if the 3rd fails, I can undo it, and interrogate as to why.

When using holes to align, and clock a component, rather than align two holes, align one, and use the angle constraint, with the "orient angle" subtype.  This gives it more freedom if the mating hole distances are off by a tiny amount.

-Dave