Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Model template vs Assembly template?

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

I'm new to NX and am wondering what the Assembly template offers that the Model template doesn't? Both allow parts to be added and created, and except for the datum included in the Model template, appear to be same.    If I'm going to be creating a new assembly, does it really matter which one I use?  Thanks!

7 REPLIES

Re: Model template vs Assembly template?

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

@pkelecy wrote:

I'm new to NX and am wondering what the Assembly template offers that the Model template doesn't? Both allow parts to be added and created, and except for the datum included in the Model template, appear to be same.    If I'm going to be creating a new assembly, does it really matter which one I use?  Thanks!

As Model, Assembly, Drawing, all files have the same '. prt' extension there is not much more difference between the model and assembly templates. You have already noticed the difference of datum between these two. When you start the part with the assembly template it ask to add the components.

Using model template you can also add the components, use the assembly commands and save it as the assembly. Now switching to drafting mode and creating the drawings and saving all them into one file is possible.

Templates are useful when it comes to customization. There are global standards, every company have their own standards/processes. Using customization you can have predefined seed templates as per your requirements.

https://docs.plm.automation.siemens.com/tdoc/nx/10/nx_help/#uid:create_new_templates_1

Siemens Phenom