Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modelling Conventions in NX

Experimenter
Experimenter

Morning,

I am new to this blog so please bear with me...

I have just started at a new company, and have been recruited with the task of improving modelling practices and utilising the master model for other operations such as inspection and maintenance manuals.

The company have been using UG/NX for many years, and have a massive amount of legacy models that have been produced with curves, then modified may times with synchronous technology.

They have just started a new project, and want to use PMI to make downstream operations easier. In order to do this, the models become much more important and must be correct.

When it was suggested that some of the models may need to be redone as they have got so many unmodifiable features, it was suggested to convert everything into a dumb solid and use more synchronous operations to modify anything in future.

To me this is a truly scary prospect, as I think models should be able to be modified by changing the base features, rather than adding more…

My questions are, what are people doing with bad models, what are peoples thoughts about modifying parametric models with synchronous and what are the drawbacks of this?

Using NX 9

NX User/Admin for 13 years.

3 REPLIES

Re: Modelling Conventions in NX

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

Hi,

I can share some experience of mine (given the fact that you already have a good exposure to NX ..i am not sure if this will add any value to the thread or not ..but still)..

I used to work heavily on surfacing projects long time time back and for a single model sometimes it took so many features/iterations to build up the model that the part file size crossed 100 MB size even... Editing and updating took quite a long time and also if there are lot of users working on the same part file it gets worse some time.