Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NX Maintenance Packs

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hello all,

Amature question here.  I'm new to my employer and this community as well. 

I am working on some issues some of my colleagues have been reporting inside of NX, and noticed we have not participated in downloading any of the "Maintenance Packs" provided by Siemens.  I have a few questions, hopefully some of you are able to spread some knowledg on.

We are currently operating on version 9.0.0.19 (We are 48 patches behind)

1.  Are the maintenance packs necessary?  What are some of your experiences with fucntionality of maintenance packs and do you recommend I update?

2.  Do the maintenance packs need to be applied sequentially? (Since we have no patch, will I need to apply them one at a time in order, or can I jump to the latest version)

Any input is appreciated! Thanks!

-Jake

Jake
8 REPLIES 8

Re: NX Maintenance Packs

Siemens Esteemed Contributor Siemens Esteemed Contributor
Siemens Esteemed Contributor

Hi Jake, welcome to the community.

Maintenance Packs (MP) are smaller patches installed on top of Maintenance Releases (MR).  There have been 3 MR's for NX9, the newest one being NX9.0.3.  The newest MR includes all fixes that were issued with the previous MR's.  The newest MP for NX9.0.3 will include all the previous MP fixes for NX9.0.3.

You need to install the MR before the MP.

To bring your version of NX9 up to the newest versions of MR and MP you only need to install the most recently released versions. Thus:

Maintenance Release NX9.0.3

Maintenance Pack NX9.0.3 mp13

Are the maintenance packs necessary?  What are some of your experiences with functionality of maintenance packs and do you recommend I update?

Are you experiencing problems with the software?  If you are, it's likely they've been fixed in a newer MR or MP.

Regards, Ben

Ben Broad | PLM Enthusiast | Siemens GCSS

NX (v17 - 1872) | Teamcenter (9 - 12)