cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NX Printing/Plotting

PLM World Member Genius PLM World Member Genius
PLM World Member Genius

I originally posted this in another thread concerning printing/plotting but I decided to post it outright as well to see if it gains any traction. 

As long as NX is on this kick to "modernize" their GUI and the like to win more business, how about they get out of the 1970's concerning their printing technology?

I run and have run a LOT of different CAD systems over the years and I still don't know why printing via Windows this day and age in NX has got to be so difficult! I know we have the other OS's that NX runs on to deal with, but they are a minority at this point. So let them deal with the 1970's tech.

Windows printing even on other 3D CAD systems I have been running for almost 20 years are a breeze to "Print" using the normal Windows print drivers for all the devices out there that we own and operate. We do a lot of printing to either full scale or a specific scale for fabrication purposes and I can no longer do this using NX and its "Print" methods. We have printers set up with "Security" that the "Plot" function in NX can't handle it; hours with GTAC confirms this. So using "Print" works but I cannot control the scale. I get what I get, true/untrue WYSIWYG!

Not to mention our "Print" drawings go into a hold cue on the printers/machine(s) which name every print job the same exact name via NX; "NX Graphic Image"or something useless like that. Every other CAD system prints fine with the actual file name displayed in the hold queue. Thus allowing us to know what we are about to print before we do so. This allows us to delete duplicates or prior prints that we accidentally hit print before we finalized the drawing.