Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reference Pattern "Delayed" - What is that?

Legend
Legend

Hello, I've been using NX for three years now and have seen something new today with reference patterns.  In the Assembly Navigator, I expanded out the Component Patterns and noticed that they all now have an "!" in the Info column.  I hovered over one of the exclamation marks and it said indicated "Delayed".  The Position column also lists a "?" for every pattern.

Does anyone have any idea of why this is happening?  Something new in using NX for 3 years....  Is this a NX 12.0.1.7 thing or is this just new for NX12? 

I also see that many of the assembly constraints now have a "!" with them.  That may be clunky/buggy behavior with 12.0.1.7, but it was also deficient and flaky in NX 10.  I think someone else's desciption was "atrocious".  Not my description, but I wouldn't disagree.  Thanks

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Reference Pattern "Delayed" - What is that?

Gears Phenom Gears Phenom
Gears Phenom

@s_hightower,

So I did a quick experiment - a simple plate with 5 X Ø15.1 through holes in a circular pattern, a Ø15 pin, assembled them, constrained the pin to be centered in the hole, top of pin 5mm above top face of plate. I created a Reference Pattern of the pin using the hole pattern as reference. Saved everything, reopened and nothing odd shows up in the Asm Navigator. I go into the plate component file and change the hole pattern to 6 holes, go back to the asm file and now I see the same thing you're describing.

I am not sure if you have to have a WAVE license but you can go to Menu -> Assemblies -> WAVE -> Associativity Manager and click on the part files you see and pick the ones that appear and then click Update Parts. You should also be seeing a clock icon in your Asm Navigator if you have the Out Of Date column active. That lets you know that something between parts is out of date and should probably be addressed.