Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Regenerating model before rendering

Solution Partner Genius Solution Partner Genius
Solution Partner Genius

Hello everyone!

I was asked a question on the topic I am not experienced with. The question is as follows.

When opening a large model for the purpose of generating a photo-realistic rendering, it is not smooth (see the picture). The rendered picture also turns out not smooth, exactly in the same way.

s.png

I normally don't pay attention to it during the design process. But it turns out to be a problem when doing rendering.

How to regenerate the whole model display before starting to render?

7 REPLIES

Re: Regenerating model before rendering

Gears Esteemed Contributor Gears Esteemed Contributor
Gears Esteemed Contributor

Right click in the graphics window and choose "update display" this will update the facets, generally cleaning up display anomolies as shown in your screenshot. Another method is view -> operation -> regenerate work; this will recalculate all of the surfaces and update the facets. Regenerate takes a little more time than "update display", but would be well worth the time if you are rendering.

Solution Partner Genius
Obviously I tried both, but it does not help. Hence the question...

Gears Esteemed Contributor Gears Esteemed Contributor
Gears Esteemed Contributor

Actually, if you don't tell us what you have tried, it is not obvious to us at all.

There are settings that you can tinker with in preferences -> visualization; for rendering, you should get better results with one of the "fine" facet settings. However, if update or regenerate does not fix the mismatched edges, I'm not sure what would fix that.

Is this "large model" an assembly? If so, are you using the lightweight bodies for display? Try changing to the exact reps for the rendering process.

Siemens Legend Siemens Legend
Siemens Legend