Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Replace Sketch Entity

Hello to all,

My name is Danijel,
I work as a designer in R&D center of one company.
I have over 12 years of experience in CAD design, using software such as SolidWorks and Inventor.
Company bought licences for NX11 Mach3 so I have oportunity to learn NX from the beginning.
This forum is awesome and I am sure I will spent a lot of time in reading of interesting topics.
As title of this topic says, I am wondering if it is possible to replace sketch entities (one entity with another).
I have searched over the forum to find a similar topic but I didn't have a luck.

Here is what I meant:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-TRGReFUp88

Any help is very appreciated.

Regards,
Danijel

19 REPLIES

Re: Replace Sketch Entity

Dear Danijel,

We have a replace feature. here it is possible to swap to feature (example two sketch features  with eachtother)

Right mouse button on the feature you want to replace and then use the "replace" feature

Replace Feature.png

Ruud van den Brand
Pre-sales NX CAD
cards PLM Solutions

[ Edited ]

(view in My Videos)

To replace an entity in a sketch, just activate the sketch, create the new curve and delete to old one if applicable. You can add/remove multiple curves, change the profile completely you have a lot of control. This movie shows a simple case of replacing a line with an arc. 

ruud_vandenbrand wrote:

Dear Danijel,

We have a replace feature. here it is possible to swap to feature (example two sketch features  with eachtother)

Right mouse button on the feature you want to replace and then use the "replace" feature

Replace Feature.png

Dear Ruud,

I didn't know that you can easily replace features by other features. That's great!

Reason why I have created this topic is explained on the attached video. I have many features which are dependent on the face(s) created by other features.