Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reverse engineering through surface modeling

Pioneer
Pioneer

Not sure if this is the right forum section for this but I've got some questions regarding surface modeling.

We're working a lot with scanned objects in STL file format. Having never worked with surface modeling before, our usual work-way is to create section curves on the facet model. Then use those curves as a reference to model the part. And use GOM inspect for a final surface comparison check.

To my understanding the more accurate way is to get into surface modeling (specifically for 3D-impellers).

Usually I can get a lot of information from youtube or google regarding methods I haven't worked with yet. There's not much I can find about reverse engineering STL files though. Is this something that can be self-taught? And if so, can anyone point me to any in-depth guides / tutorials explaining how..

4 REPLIES

Re: Reverse engineering through surface modeling

Gears Phenom Gears Phenom
Gears Phenom

I've used "Rapid Surfacing", for some tasks here.  between the help files, youtube, and trial and error, I got it.

-Dave
NX 11 | Teamcenter 11 | Windows 8.1

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

Yes, you have the correct forum.

There are basically 4 methods of reverse engineering surfaces from facets plus another method of working.

Which method to use depends on a number of factors. How close to the scan data do you want the surfaces? What quality of surfaces to you require? How do you want to edit the geometry later?

Method 1 – curves to surfaces

Probably along the lines you are currently doing.

Create sections though the facet body. Fit/smooth a spline (or multiple curves) though the section data.

Create surfaces though curves

Place lines and arcs by points and extrude for planar and conical areas.

This method is useful when downstream and later edits you want to be from 2D curves.

Method 2 – fit surfaces to facet