Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SNAP Application - NX10 - Deviation of model/faceted model

Pioneer
Pioneer

Hello everyone, 

I am a beginner user of NX10, i started using it to create a tool to test a new method to reverse engineer a part, to create a CAD model of an STL file with a semi-automatic process.

I was thinking of using SNAP to build a prototype, but i need to be sure that SNAP has all the functionalities that i need. 

Shortly, i need to access to all the commands/functions of the "Reverse Engineering" tab, and in particular to the deviation analysis tool (to be performed between a faceted model and a cad model). Is SNAP able to handle faceted models? 

Thanks, 

Francesco

3 REPLIES

Re: SNAP Application - NX10 - Deviation of model/faceted model

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

I am not exactly sure whether or not the SNAP API includes the functionality you are looking for. My guess is there is a way to do what you are looking for. In any case, on top of utilizing these forums for help and information, it will benefit you to have a look at the documention and the SNAP reference guide.

https://docs.plm.automation.siemens.com/tdoc/nx/10/nx_api/#uid:index_snap_ref_guide

As well as the SNAP introductory PDF:

https://docs.plm.automation.siemens.com/data_services/resources/nx/10/nx_api/en_US/graphics/fileLibr...

Also, here is some code to help you get started. This is a For loop that will process each Faceted body in the assembly.

Dim theFacetedBodies() As FacetedBody = p.FacetedBodies.ToArray()

Echo("Faceted Bodies in part: " & theFacetedBodies.GetLength(0).ToString())

For Each thisFacetedBody As FacetedBody In theFacetedBodies
            Echo("FACETED BODIES")
            Echo("==============")

If thisFacetedBody.HasLightWeightAnalytics().Equals(True) Then
                Echo("Has lightweight analytics")

'==========================

'Any desired processing include here

Else