Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Utilizing Datum Planes For Assembly Constraints

Creator
Creator

Hello all,

I have recently made the change from Solid Works to NX 8 - quite the change I must say.  So many more steps are needed to complete similar tasks.

Something that has changed drastically for me is the lack of being able to use datum planes (both the XYZ and user-created) as points for assembly constraint.  I have been designing for however many years with the placement of planes being crucial to the design.  Now that I have begun using NX, I am seeing that planes that I create in a sub part/sub assembly do not show in the assembly (I have changed the reference set to "entire part" already) nor am I able to constrain a plane to another plane.

What am I doing wrong?  Not to play the "can't teach an old dog new tricks" card, but I have been designing around planes for entirely too long for me to do a 180° in my habits.  Please help!

Thanks!

-Tyler

11 REPLIES

Re: Utilizing Datum Planes For Assembly Constraints

Gears Honored Contributor Gears Honored Contributor
Gears Honored Contributor

Using datum planes in assembly constraints is allowed and a perfectly valid approach. If you have changed the reference set to "entire part" and still cannot see the datum planes, make sure that

1. the datum plane isn't hidden
  2. the layer that the datum plane is on is shown
  3. the component may need to be "fully loaded" to access all the geometry (if it is "partially loaded" - right click it in the assembly navigator and choose open -> component fully)

When selecting objects during constraint creation, make sure that your selection filter does not exclude datum planes.

Creator
Creator

Thank you for your help.  It looks like I had overlooked the "partially loaded" flag on the open screen.