Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What datum do WAVE Geometry linked objects use?

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

I'm new to NX and am trying to understand how WAVE linked objects are oriented.

If I create a new part in an assembly and then create a WAVE link to, say, a curve or body in another part, when that curve or body is brought in to the new part, is it oriented relative to the work coordinate system of the new part?

I ask because I want to WAVE link to a sketch component in another part, but  I want to change how it's oriented in the new part.  So I'm wondering if reorienting the Datum in the new part would accomplish that.  Would it?

Thanks for the help!  Pat

7 REPLIES

Re: What datum do WAVE Geometry linked objects use?

Gears Phenom Gears Phenom
Gears Phenom

It's orientation is based of how the components are assembled to each other.

-Dave
NX 11 | Teamcenter 11 | Windows 8.1

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

Hi,

WAVE links are designed to stay right on top of their parents in the assembly. If you move the component that contains the WAVE link, then the link in the component will update and move in the opposite direction to compensate for what you just did. The linked geometry is coincident with the original geometry in the assembly.
The relation between the link and the original objects is maintained through the assembly structure. Every subassembly between the link and the original geometry will have an impact on the position of the WAVE link in the part. When you read it like this it might sound complicated, but you should imagine walk up the structure from the WAVE link until you reach a common parent and then walking down the assembly structure until you are at the original geometry. This is how WAVE updates its position.