Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

layers application

Creator
Creator

hi every one.

i am new to nx 9.

what is exacy use of layers in nx?can any one explain with example?

27 REPLIES

Re: layers application

Solution Partner Legend Solution Partner Legend
Solution Partner Legend
Here we use layers to organize the objects in my model.
for example, (Just an example)
all datum planes in layer 1.
all datum coordinate system in layer 2.
all sketches in layer 3.
all solid bodies in layer 4.
and so on..

I can easily isolate all solid bodies by unchecking layers other than layer 4 in view->layer settings
Or easily edit sketches by making all other layers visible only. this way you can only select sketches.
It has many uses, its up to you to explore Smiley Happy

Regards,
~Sen

Phenom
Phenom

If you are working with NX old-timers, they will say how much they love the Layers like their Drawing Board. Then you may have to follow their age old set rules.

If you are coming from other software, you will feel the pain of how much work involved to maintain those layers.

Similar to what you find in other software, NX has come up with new Show and Hide tools to work way faster without maintaining layer structure in each component.

These days generally one file contains only one component=one solid working body and if have multiple construction bodies, then you could hide them inside layers to show only when needed.

Michael Fernando

Die Designer
NX 11.0.2.7 + PDW

Genius
Genius

Layers can be additional work, but it's pressing buttons, not digging fence post holes. NX has all the selection filters necessary, unlike other "cutting edge" software, to help make this task fairly simple.