Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

refining curve: degree vs. segments

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
As well known, the success or failure in surfacing depends on the quality of starting curves.

Sometimes we need to refine a curve. A dilema in the refining process is to decide the degree and the number of segments, lower degree + more segments, or higher degree + less segments.

Hope to have your suggesions on this issue. Thanks!
11 REPLIES

Re: refining curve: degree vs. segments

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

Hi surfactant,

I am not an expert on this but will share my past experiences...I usually go for less number of segments and somewhat more degree for projects with less time.

It may vary from case to case. For a rough surfacing project more segments will surely be fast but for class-A or aesthetically good surfaces i always keep a tab on both of them (degrees and segment).

Usually i do not go beyond 4/5 degrees (no additional segment) and if needed then i break the surface into more primary patches (each with 3/4/5 degree) ....this however consumes a lot of time (though worthwhile). 

For the primary (design intent curves) i will not recommend going more than 5/6 degrees...secondary (transition curves ) will automatically follow the route (for G2 at both ends it will be 6 degrees i guess).

one example is below...when the degree is less it is much easier to check any unwanted inflexions and most important if you keep the curve light you can get your desired comb curvature  faster...below i am pulling the first node (along the tangent ) towards the end point to get a constant acceleration comb.....you will see that when you create a secondary (let us say a bridge curve) using this curve ...then you will the best bell shape comb transition.

comb.jpgRegards

Kapil

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hi @kapilsharma   Thanks for sharing your invaluable experience!

Siemens Phenom