Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting a radius of a cone

Pioneer
Pioneer

Hello everyone!

I am currently studying the properties of the conical face to automatically retreive some information from a model of mine. One key property I would need tp receive, would be the minim and maximum radius of the cone.

Does anyone know which radius the "askfacedata" of the cone gets? For the cones I tested, the value of this radius seems rather strange. Or is there maybe another way to get the minimum and maximum radius of the face?

I am looking forward to hearing from you!

PS: If not, is there maybe a way to get the length of the cone? An "askmaximum" distance function might also come in handy to calculate those values Smiley Very Happy

3 REPLIES 3

Re: Getting a radius of a cone

Gears Esteemed Contributor Gears Esteemed Contributor
Gears Esteemed Contributor

One of the outputs of .AskFaceData is a point coordinate; for a conical face, this point lies somewhere on the axis of the cone. The radius that is returned represents the radius at this point (take a planar section of the conical face normal to the axis, passing through this point and measure the radius).

If the face is a result of a cone feature, you can use a cone feature builder object to query the top and bottom radius.

If the face is a result of a through curve or revolve feature, you might be able to get or calculate the radii from the section curves.

If all you have to work with is the face, you could get the edges from the face and test to see if they are arcs. If the edges are not arcs, you could use .AskFaceProps to get the radius at a particular parameter location on the face. Finding the correct parameter locations in this case could be tricky.