Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Global or local variables, what's better

I'm just a beginner in the programming world, and I'm not sure what's better in a mid/large program, a global variable that is accessible to all subs/functions, or local variables inside subs/functions where needed.

For example the NX session, UFsession, or a variable that is used/needed in multiple parts of the program.

If the variable is global, you have the variable in memory all the time, even if you are not using it on some parts of the program.

If the variable is local, you create/reference the object/variable, use it and, at the end of the sub/function, destroy it .

I wonder if there are best practices about this, or what other users do and why?

Is there any difference in performance/efficiency?

Any thoughts will be appreciated

TIA

5 REPLIES

Re: Global or local variables, what's better

Generally, professional programmers frown on the use of global variables. This is because they damage function "encapsulation" -- they make it difficult to understand exactly what inputs and outputs each function has, because they by-pass the function's argument list.

But, from a logical point of view, the current NX session is a "global variable" and it makes perfect sense (to me) to represent it as such in a program. In fact, in SNAP there is a whole collection of global variables in the Snap.Globals class, including things like the work part, unit type, tolerances, etc. The NX session logically belongs in this collection, too.

If you repeatedly call NX/Open functions to read these variables, there is a tiny performance degradation. But it's so tiny that it's not worth worrying about.Improving the clarity of your programs is the real point of the global variables, not the performance gain.

So, for things like the NX session (and a few other things) I would recommend using global variables. But, use them sparingly.

山田
yamada

[ Edited ]