Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NX Drafting Customization

Pioneer
Pioneer

I have a programming/customization idea that I would like to implement but don't quite know where to get started in NX with SNAP.  Primarily since I am completely new to SNAP and it may possibly not be the right programming tool for what I want to do.  Hopefully someone could point me in the right direction.

A action that I constantly perform in my assembly drafting file is link a note to a component attribute which is a string called NAME. The keystrokes/mouse clicks can become combersome in NX when doing this several times consecutively.  

What I would want to do is create a dialog/command would allow me to initiate a command where I input the attribute name that I want NX to look for and only use my mouse from that point on to click on components and position my notes.  Basically mimicing keystroke with static settings for the attribute name and selection filter.

Please see the attached keystroke video if my description seems too open to interpretation.

Mark

14 REPLIES

Re: NX Drafting Customization

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

SNAP would not be the right tool for this since it doesn't enable you to customize the drafting application.  SNAP is currently limited to Modeling.

You would be able to achieve this using NX Open customization.  You would need a dialog with a Specify Location block and a Specify object block.  From the selection of the specified object, you would extract the NAME attribute value, and then create a drafting note at the specified location.  For example, you would need this builder class:

NXOpen.Annotations.DraftingNoteBuilder draftingNoteBuilder;

and set

draftingNoteBuilder.Text.TextBlock.AddAttributeReference(component, "NAME", false, 1, 1);

to create your note.