Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to NX OPEN requesting some direction..

Experimenter
Experimenter

Hello NX Programming Forum,

I am new to NX OPEN. Can any one guide me on how to get NX OPEN tool.? does this comes inbuild in NX tool ? as i searched every where but didnt find the path.

please help me in this regard with my first step. 

9 REPLIES

Re: New to NX OPEN requesting some direction..

Honored Contributor
Honored Contributor

Record a journal; look at the resulting code - congratulations, you have just used the NX Open API.

Take a look in your {NX install directory}\UGOPEN\SampleNXOpenApplications folder for some example code.

Search the GTAC solution center for "nxopen sample {topic of interest}" for more example code.

Install the NX programming help; it is not installed by default. Check out the SNAP getting started guide for some explanation of the API.

Experimenter
Experimenter

thanks cowski1 for the quick post.

as SNAP is available in NX Programming tool bar, how about NX OPEN how can i get to this interface. as i would like to do few CAD related programming calculations by using NX open with .net programing interface. how can i start this.?

Honored Contributor
Honored Contributor

Go into the NX preferences and change the "journal language" to the one that you are most familiar with*. Start the journal recorder and do something simple like changing the color of a body. Stop the journal recorder and browse to the journal file. Open the file in a text editor; this will contain the NX Open code required to do whatever action you recorded. You can edit the code to add your own variables, functions, subroutines, etc and "replay" the journal file to test out your changes.

*I would suggest staying away from C++ for now because I don't think that C++ journals can be replayed without compiling them first (but I may be wrong on that point).