Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Solved! Go to solution

Search within files for a tool without opening the files

Hello all,

I am new to NX and was asked to try and make a spreadsheet in which you can type a Tool number and all .prt files containing that tool within a particular file location will be listed. We utilize NX 7.5 and 9 until we can convert everything to 9. I was thinking of tying to add a button in excel that will contain code that will search the files while using a cell (containing the tool number) as the search criteria. Any assistance on this will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

13 REPLIES
Solution
Solution
Accepted by MarkRief (VIP)
‎08-26-2015 04:32 AM

Re: Search within files for a tool without opening the files

A sample vb program was provided in the Manufacturing forum :*)

http://community.plm.automation.siemens.com/t5/Discussion-Forum-NX/Search-within-files-for-a-tool-wi...

Mark Rief
Retired Siemens

thank you again

jfree wrote:

thank you again

You're very welcome.

I put the note here so that folks in this forum know that this has been solved. Many programmers don't read the CAM forum.

Mark Rief
Retired Siemens

MarkRief,

Hello again, I have added a few things to the code and I was wondering if there is any way to make this an executable file so that I can run it without opening NX.  My idea is to have a Refresh button in excel that will update the tool numbers by running the code. Any help is greatly appreciated. 

Thank you,

You can run the journal from a command line. Start an NX Command Prompt window and enter run_journal -help.

Mark Rief
Retired Siemens

Thank you again MardRief that helped very much. I was just asked to do the same thing as it is doing now but to only pull tool numbers that have operations attached to them. I have tried searching for them but have had no luck. Do you have any ideas? Thanks you

jfree wrote: