Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Switch Part tool debug

Phenom
Phenom

Hi,

an Eng-Tips user in this theread http://www.eng-tips.com/viewthread.cfm?qid=351988 has developped and shared an useful tool.

To create a tool that works indipendetly by where it's placed, I've add a string like Joe has suggested, but now it doesn't work, because I'm not a programmer Smiley Happy

Attached the txt (.vb) edited by me.

Can someone help me to debug ?

Thank you...

Using NX 11 / RuleDesigner PDM

8 REPLIES

Re: Switch Part tool debug

Siemens Valued Contributor Siemens Valued Contributor
Siemens Valued Contributor

replace Public Shared JournalDirectory = "path where journal file is saved" & "\"

Phenom
Phenom

pv3wqm wrote:

replace Public Shared JournalDirectory = "path where journal file is saved" & "\"

This is the original text, but I want to use the :

JournalDirectory = Path.GetDirectoryName(theSession.ExecutingJournal) & "\"

as a Siemens PLM employee has wrote to render the Journal independent.
Thank you...

I see the problem is "theSession.ExecutingJournal" is being used without intializing the session. Please move  "Public Shared theSession As Session" befor  "Public Shared JournalDirectory = Path.GetDirectoryName(theSession.ExecutingJournal) & "\" " and intialize the session as   Public Shared theSession As Session=Session.GetSession().

your code should look like:

Public Shared theSession As Session=Session.GetSession()
    'REPLACE THIS PATH WITH THE LOCATION OF THE JOURNAL FILE AND IMAGES:
    '--------------------------------------------------------
    Public Shared JournalDirectory = Path.GetDirectoryName(theSession.ExecutingJournal) & "\"
   '--------------------------------------------------------

Public Shared workPart As Part
  Public Shared displayPart As Part

Esteemed Contributor
Esteemed Contributor

Another problem is that this only works if run as a journal, if run as a DLL the ExecutingJournal property is empty.