Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

blockstyler selection and execution

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hi, I'm a beginner in blockstyler

where must I place the my instructions in the blockstyler.

Using the update or apply callback in the blockstyler generated code, will force instructions on ok + apply. But where must I place the instruction that the instructions execute while selection?

regads

uwenx

6 REPLIES

Re: blockstyler selection and execution

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

There is no callback that gets called specifically when the user makes a selection.

However, your Update callback will be called whenever the user does anything significant in any block in the dialog. And, when NX calls your Update callback, it will tell you which block the user touched. So, if you want to do something in response to a selection, you put code in your Update callback, and you execute it only when the user interacts with a selection block.

An Update callback typically has a sequence of "IF" statements that check which block was touched, and then execute the appropriate code.

Here's an example of a typical Update callback. It's from chapter 13 of the SNAP Getting Started Guide. It uses a BlockForm, rather than a BlockDialog, but the principle is the same.

Public Overrides Sub OnUpdate(changedBlock As UI.Block.General)

Dim myLine As NX.Line

If changedBlock = thinDashedButton
      myLine = CreateLine()
      myLine.LineWidth = Globals.Width.Thin
      myLine.LineFont = Globals.Font.Dashed
   End If

If changedBlock = thickSolidButton
      myLine = CreateLine()
      myLine.LineWidth = Globals.Width.Thick
      myLine.LineFont = Globals.Font.Solid
   End If

End Sub

山田
yamada

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

thank you on reply,

hm, yes, I did that you have discribed...

I select an object and the code should do something with this object.

update_cb requires still an apply...

regards