Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

language for NX Open

Dear all,

I am new to NXopen programming and i learnt a few things in VB language by asking questions in this forum and by googling. Then suddenly one of my friend suggested that VB.net for NXOpen is too old, so go for java for NXopen. I asked him can i go for python?

So i am confused, Can anyone suggest which language is easy to learn NXopen in Visual studio.? As suggested by most of them i learnt by recording and replying the journal files and Is there any webinars and courses available ?

Thanks.

9 REPLIES 9

Re: language for NX Open

Gears Phenom Gears Phenom
Gears Phenom

I would not say VB.NET is "too old". It is fully supported in NXOpen.

As for Java, I would advise against that if you are a beginner. The language itself is nothing complicated, but the environment to write and run Java in NX is a bit more complicated. Also there are a few slight differences in the API between the .NET languages and Java. Not so many people use Java (as far as I know), so coming across these small differences, you get less chance of help in the forums.

Also, as a beginner it is nice to be able to play journals without compiling etc. You can record a journal in any of the languages, but you can only replay VB, C# and Python. For C++ and Java you have to compile the code and execute it via File->Execute->NXOpen

Hope this helps.

Graham Inchley Snr R&D Engineer (Systems Development), Sandvik Coromant
Dell 7530 Precision, Win10, 32GB. Developing in: Java | C | KF
Production: [NX12.0.2 MP1]

Hi there,
Is there any webinar or online courses to learn some things in NXOpen via vb.net or python or any language?

Gears Phenom

I guess Siemens would provide some training, contact GTAC for information.

I'm afraid its been so long since I started prgoramming in NXOpen (25+ years) I haven't had a training course in a looooong time...