cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Entities - Attributes - Factory logic - Need help.

Creator
Creator

Hi everybody.

First off i want to declare that this is a longshot from my side. Most of you certainly don't have the time to help a complete rookie like me Smiley Happy

Intro

I am a student that is doing my thesis-work in Sweden at a factory that have a very mixed production unit. Don't know if I am allowed to be any more specific.

I'm new here and also a new user to the Plant Simulation 13 software.

I've previously worked in ExtendSim and Simio and consider myself an intermediate user in those programs.

My main problem is due to the fact that I am stuck in the thinking-pattern associated with ExtendSim and Simio, Plant Simulation seems pretty different/hard to grasp.

Background

The target of my simulation is to see what will happen if the company changes base material to one that is tougher to machine.

The basic layout of the production line is seen in the figure below:

Main_line.PNG

Model description

Every frame seen in the model is a separate production unit. (Which I will model later when I get the overall logic working)

Pink flow - Main line

Blue flow - Order/information flow

Red flow- Hardening flow (long lead time)

Green flow - Hardning flow (short lead time)

Black flow - Exit to EDC (some products sold as semi-finished)

Cyan flow - Exit to other in house production unit.

Entities: Don't know yet? Five selected representative products (A to E) with vary varying volumes/quantities

I want to make a flow that is both pushing and pulling (this is the way it looks today)

The initial pull should come from the European Distribution Center (EDC) when they place an order.

The order will be placed at the unit "Front end Machining" which will start to work with delivering/pushing downward the main flow to the next station.