cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Frame inheritance

Hello to everyone,

i have a problem with my model that i can't figure out.

As you can see in the image attached i've one main frame (factory) and several other connected to that one.

In the image there are open the same frame (legatura) from the folder and the one from the main frame and they are different.

Probably, as a newbie, i've worked with the frame in the main one and the changes are not synced to the one in the folder.

Of course if i cancel one of them the other one do the same thing.

How can i "repair" the connection and sync the changes to the frame in the folder?

Thanks!

2 REPLIES

Re: Frame inheritance

Siemens Experimenter Siemens Experimenter
Siemens Experimenter

If I understand correctly, you would like to update your original Class with the work you have done on the Instances. As noted in the Help (search for Inheritance): "Inheritance only works from class to subclass/instance, not the other way around!", so there is no quick 'reverse inheritance'. However, here are a few options to consider, to at least make the repair process a bit more efficient.

Note: Remember that updating the original user Class Frame, will drive inheritable properties to the Instances in your model. Some unintended consequences may occur, depending on the complexity of your model, so I advise saving a copy before you make changes, so you do not lose your original work, in case the changes are not favorable. There is no simple way to undo the changes listed below. Also, depending on your objects, and if, for example, Methods use absolute or relative paths, you may need to do additional touch ups.

1. Update the contents original Frame