Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to set the storage strategy of “Random” when I put parts into genericRacks(the objects is store)

Genius
Genius

Hello,everyone

I’m studying how create a model ,which put parts into store. There are 2 Racks to store parts in the model.I post the mode in the attachment,so that you can refer to it.

Firstly ,I set the storage strategy as “Random”.

Secondly, I set the values of store .Xdim and store.Ydim:X=20,Y=13.

Thirdly, the “Random” storage method is:

xPos := z_uniform(1, 1, track.XA + 1); -- Here TRAck.XA=X=20

yPos := z_uniform(1, 1, track.YA + 1) ; -- Here TRAck.YA=Y=13

one part will move to the the position whose number is (xPos,yPos) in the store. If I run the model, it means one store will contains “20*13=260 “parts, so the 2 stores will hold 520 parts.

Actually, when I start the model, the results are shown in the following picture:

The number of all the parts in the stores is "505 "with the blue marks,which is less than 520,that is to say ,there are vacant positions left which the parts can be moved with red marks.

Strage01.JPG

So,what should I do to resolve the problems.

Looking forward to your valuable directions!

Any help is great appreciated!

7 REPLIES 7

Betreff: How to set the storage strategy of “Random” when I put parts into genericRacks(the objects

Gears Phenom Gears Phenom
Gears Phenom

Hi MarkLee,

you have a loop that randomly chooses a storage location from (x,y) = {1,1}..{20,13} and then randomly (50:50) chooses the side (left/right) and then checks whether that position is free. After 50 randomly checked locations you receive the error message. You have 505/520=97% occupancy rate, so it is not surprising for me that your method will pick 50 occupied places in a row, even though there are free places available.