Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plant Simulation and multiple CPU cores

Solution Partner Legend Solution Partner Legend
Solution Partner Legend

Hello,

I am just curious if it is at all possible or if there are plans to implement thread-level parallellism to Plant Simulation? Being able to utilize several cores for a single simulation run (not distributed simulation) could potentially speed things up a lot instead of relying on single-thread performance of a CPU. It's definitely not an easy question but an interesting one! Smiley Happy

4 REPLIES

Re: Plant Simulation and multiple CPU cores

Legend
Legend

Hello,

I'm not an expert but I think that since it's a discrete event simulation modelling software the event list needs to be evaluated in order. That is, there's no point in evaluating events ahead of time. Maybe some parallellism would be possible for each single event, but in essence such a software as Plant Simulation wouldn't benefit from parallellism.

Solution Partner Legend Solution Partner Legend
Solution Partner Legend

Yes, the very nature of the software operating in discrete events processed in chronological order was my first thought as a reason why it wouldn't be possible to implement parallellism, or even beneficial. However I am not a computer scientist or "real" software developer so it is pure speculation on my part Smiley Happy

Gears Phenom Gears Phenom
Gears Phenom

Hello.

Well, I have not checked how many cores my plant sim uses, so all of this is theoretical but personally I would use 1 core for the simulation to keep the liner nature of it (CPU core loads could affect their speeds to prevent them from running at the same time factor as each over).