Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using fluids simulating a brewery

Pioneer
Pioneer

Hello,

I'm currently doing an internship at Gulpener Brewery in the Netherlands. A part of my internship is about simulating the brew house. I'm a beginner in working with PlantSim and I just started working with SimTalk. 

The brewing process starts with 3 barley silo's. All the 3 silo's contain differtent types of barley. I want to start simulating 1 sort of beer, at the end I want the simulate more beer. The first beer starts with barley from SILO1 and SILO 2 , SILO 3 is not used this time. Barley gets trasported from SILO1 and SILO2 to another SILO, called the day silo (a silo that contains a specific mix of barley for a beer). 

Vraag1.PNG

Is it possible to put two fluid flows in one silo? I get an error when I want to run the simulation... Maybe I need to adjust a mixer to make it work like a tank?

Thanks in advance!

Greetings,

Paul Simonis

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Using fluids simulating a brewery

Solution Partner Phenom Solution Partner Phenom
Solution Partner Phenom

Hi Paul,

Since you make a pre-mix of barley, you need to use a Mixer object for that. A Tank object can only contain a single material at a time. Use a MaterialsTable to specify which ratios of barley types you need, e.g.  1kg PreMix1 is made from 0.8 kg Pilsner Malt and 0.2 kg Wheat Malt. After that you need another Mixer object for the mashing; here too you need an entry in the recipes, e.g. 1 kg Mash1 is made of 0.2 kg PreMix1 and 0.8 kg Water.

Whatever Product you define for the Mixer, it will try to take the ingredients from its preceding objects. If you did not define ingredients for it, the Mixer just processes the fluid.

Gert Nomden
Digital Factory Consultant
cardsplmsolutions.com

Pioneer
Pioneer

Dear Gert,

Thanks for your answer, the mixer works indeed. I currently have three another questions, maybe you can answer them: