Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

make inputs [kg] and [m] to a product

Creator
Creator

hi all,

I am new to plantsim and still learning the basics.

we try to simulate our production.

as we have only two material inputs, I thought it should be quite easy to get it done ... Smiley Wink

input 1: mixture [kg]

input 2: a long (cotton) string [m]

output: blank [pieces]

we need to model different types of mixtures and strings in order to produce different versions of our blanks. I was trying to model the mixture input with a fluidsource, the string with a regular source. put both into an assembly station and have our blank produced. not really working..

any tips?

26 REPLIES 26

Re: make inputs [kg] and [m] to a product

Siemens Valued Contributor Siemens Valued Contributor
Siemens Valued Contributor

Hello! First of all, assembly tables can only work with Mobile Units (Parts, containers, transports and their derivates). If you want to "assemble" a fluid you therefor need to transform it into a MU. Fortunately ther is already an object, the Portioner, that can do that! I'm attatching a picture of a very basic model using the portioner so you can see how it can be done.

Creator
Creator

Thanks for the hint with the portioner. I have attached a simplified model of what I am trying to do:

paint.PNG

I somehow need to produce different blanks.
E.g. I want to produce 5000 pieces of a "Type338" blank, which consist of x kg mixture and y meters string. and produce a "Type200" blank which consists of a different mixture and different string.

I only can enter [pieces] for the string source.

But do you know how long each piece of string is? if you have a set number of different lengths, you could represent those with different MUs. Then you only have to calculate how many pieces of string with length X is needed to create 5000 pieces of Type338 , and put that number into your production table.