Align center two paralell lines

Hello,

I am sorry if this question is too simple but I have googled like crazy, read pdfs etc but I cannot figure it out.
If I have to paralell lines and want them to align by center point.

How do I do that?

Any help will be highly appreciated.

Thx,
Peter
8 REPLIES

Re: Align center two paralell lines

Peter,
I've been using SE for a few years now but am far from an expert so take what I say with a grain of salt.
Grab one line by the mid point and move it so it aligns with the mid point of the other line than move it the required distance apart. Then you can dimension that distance accurately with the Smart Dimension tool.
Another way would be to draw a line from the mid point of one of the lines at a right angle that is the distance you want between the two parallel lines. Then grab the second line by the mid point and place it on the end of the line you just drew. That will distance the line and align it with the mid point of the parallel line. Then delete the line running between them.
I know there has to be a better way so I'm sure you'll get a better answer. SE doesn't have very many snap modes once you've placed an element.

Not exactly clear what you are asking. Are the parallel lines horizontal or vertical or at an angle? I am going to assume they are horizontal or vertical and you want to line up the midpoints in the other direction.

To do this, make sure you have "relationships" turned on. then apply a H/V relationship.

If you don't know what these commands are, use "Command Finder" at the bottom of the screen and search for Relationships.

[ Edited ]
Thanks for you answers but I still cannot figure it out. I have been trying every relationship assistant with different settings, symmetric command etc
Search relationships in the command finder etc but still lost.

I have ie two horizontal parallel lines. One is shorter and one longer. The mid/centerpoint of the two lines are not above each other.