Interface Suggestion

[ Edited ]

Hi. Sorry if there's a better place to post this, I didn't find it.

I'm new to Solid Edge, but have played with a number of other graphical/cad programs. One thing I find incredibly useful for learning my way around a new program, is listing the keyboard shortcut in the tooltip for every button that has a keyboard shortcut. Chances are, if I use a tool once, and plan on using it, even just a second time, I'd rather just make note of the shortcut when I use it the first time, and not have to go hunt for some vaguely familiar little icon, again. I'm sure, in time, I'll learn the tools I use, often, but this would speed up that process 10 fold, without having to look up each tool that I think I might use often.

Use a tool, see the shortcut, use it a few times, and the shortcut gets associated with that tool way more naturally than a seperate reference sheet, or a google search.

Thank you.

bonus rant:

Also, please, just give me the option to turn the classic text menus back on. The mess that is the Vista-style tabs and guided menus make me anxious whenever I have to use them.

4 REPLIES

Re: Interface Suggestion

[ Edited ]

Hi there,

Probably in the general group "Solid Edge Forum" would've been better....

Solid Edge doesn't operate [totally] on archane deeply rooted keyboard shortcuts, obviously there are the generic Windows ones...rest assured, where there ARE keyboard shortcuts, they can, and in most places will be, displayed alongside the command. You can of cousre customise the UI also.....with ALL the tools you want, where you want them.

One of the key places you need to look for, is the "Prompt Bar", this gives you continuous feedback on what the system is looking for next, as well as giving method options. The other is, Solid Edge Options, and look at the section called "Helpers", this gives the user a choice on the level of system assistance they get during usage. Another is the "Command Finder"....