Name 2D Drawing Views

I'm new to Solid Edge and this is my first post, so please excuse me if this has been asked before.  I did search the forum but couldn't find anything relevant.

I only draw in 2D and have a working sheet with lots of drawing views showing different parts of my 2D model, but I can't find any way to name these views.  I would like to do so, because I want to hide/show different layers in each view, but in the Layers Tab/Drawing Views, every view is simply called "Draft".  the only way I can work out which set of layers to modify is to click on each "Draft" successively until the correct view is highlighted.

I have played around with the view Properties/Captions and Descriptions, but these seem to have no effect (or, at least, not what I want).  Perhaps I have not set up the views correctly?  I used the 2D Model command from working sheet/Tables tab and simply inserted the selected area into my working sheet at the scale I wanted.

Thanks for any help/guidance you can give.

Richard H
using ST9/Windows 10 for 2D drafting only
3 REPLIES

Re: Name 2D Drawing Views

[ Edited ]

Hi there @RichardH,

Firstly, welcome to Solid Edge & the SE-Community,  and a great question!

Here's my NZ$0.02 worth....

An alternate way you might find to your current work flow, could be to place a single scaled view of you 2D Model on the working sheet, then make use of the "Detail" function......see attached "Properties" [found on the selected view's ribbon bar, or right click on the view to access it] and also and example file [ST9] using detail views, with a few different shapes [each detail view can be scaled independantly]..... HTH.

2017-02-16 (1).png

EDIT: I forgot to mention, I don't think there is a way to have one "2D model", and then also have the different "Views" show the same model, but in different layer states.

Think you'd need to have multiple copies of the 2D model to achieve this.

Sean Cresswell
Design Manager Streetscape Limited