ok don't chew my head off - how to scale?

N/A
I want to start off a drawing in 1:10 scale

whats the default scale ?

I am new to CAD although I'm 50 lol but started out a long long time ago as a draughtsperson, I am fairly computer literate and what I need to do is simple IF I can get this damn thing to draw a line 3000 mm long ON THE PAPER without taking off to be actually 3000mm long

I would really be appreciative of any help I can get to help this DUMMYSmiley Sad

Stewart
2 REPLIES

Re: ok don't chew my head off - how to scale?

N/A
Some steps I found helpful.

1. Open Solid Edge 2D
2. When you get the start up screen, go to the Application Button, top left hand corner, click on it and a menu will open.
3. Select New from the menu.
4. This opens a dialogue titled New. It has 3 tabs, ‘General’, ‘More’, ‘Quick Sheets’ and ‘Reports’. Depending on how you set up SE2D will depend on what you have in General. This should be the normal sheet you would use. If the sheet in ‘General’ is not what you want select one from the ‘More’ tab.
Then click OK at the bottom of the Dialogue.
4. This then opens up with a window showing your sheet.
5. Click on the Application Button again and select ‘Sheet Setup’. This opens up a Dialogue for you to define your drawing sheet size, A2, A3 etc.
It has 3 tabs, ‘Size’, ‘Name’, ‘Background’.
In Size select your sheet size, units and precision. Name sets the sheets name, and Background sets the sheets background image, ie the border and title box.
Once you have set that click OK
6. Now in the ‘Home->Drawing Views’ menu click on 2D Model. When a dialogue appears click OK. On the bottom you will have 2 tabs, One titled ‘2D Model’, the other ‘Sheet1’ or similar.
You are now in the 1:1 drawing window, that is the 2D Model tab. Al things here are on a 1:2 scale.