AccessViolationException & FatalExecutionEngineError

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hi.

I'm new in SE development. I've been working on a Add-in for tree months and I frequently have problems with these two kinds of errors that seem to happen especially when I execute my application repeatedly, but not only.

Does anybody have any special advice, tip, best practice that can avoid them? I'm not felling confident to put my application into production since I don't know when this might happen.

2 REPLIES

Re: AccessViolationException & FatalExecutionEngineError

Solution Partner Phenom Solution Partner Phenom
Solution Partner Phenom

For clarification, I assume you've written a Solid Edge AddIn using .NET? I'm a bit thrown off when you say "I execute my application repeatedly". That sounds like you have written a standalone .exe.

I have seen these types of errors back when .NET had first came out and we were all struggling trying to get .NET addins to work. Both .NET & Solid Edge have came a long way (gotten better) since then so I don't hear much about those types of errors these days.

Some questions we need answered:

• What version of Solid Edge are you targeting?
  • What version of the .NET framework are you targeting?
  • Are the exceptions reproducible or random?
  • Have you spent time looking at the sample addins on CodePlex?
  • What is the functionality of your addin? i.e. What are you trying to accomplish?

My approach to resolving an issue like this is to start removing functionality from the addin until the exceptions stop. The goal is to isolate the issue.

There was a time when I wouldn't write a Solid Edge AddIn using .NET because there were so many issues like this but as of late, I've changed my stance because things have gotten better. AddIn development is not easy. I'll try to help you where I can.

Jason Newell
Applications Architect
www.jasonnewell.net

Re: AccessViolationException & FatalExecutionEngineError

Valued Contributor