AddIn vs COM Automation

Hi guys,

I'm new to SolidEdge development and I have two main questions.

First of all, why should I choose to create and AddIn instead of automating SolidEdge through COM from an external .exe? I bet that from an AddIn I’d have better control over events happening inside SolidEdge (like MouseMove), better way of integrating dialogs and a more complete API?. One of my main objectives for my next project is to allow the user to select points and edges in his model.

Secondly, if I choose to go with the AddIn method, the .Net way seems to be strongly rejected by the main expert here (by the way thx for your awesome work Jason ). There seems to be a lot of problems related to .net development in AddIns. Could somebody just share a link or post some explanations about what are the disadvantages of using .net.

Thanks a lot !

Posted by: David Shooner
Post date: 1/31/2012 3:23:17 AM

6 REPLIES

RE: AddIn vs COM Automation

Posted By David on 31 Jan 2012 09:23 AM

Hi guys,

I'm new to SolidEdge development and I have two main questions.

First of all, why should I choose to create and AddIn instead of automating SolidEdge through COM from an external .exe? I bet that from an AddIn I’d have better control over events happening inside SolidEdge (like MouseMove), better way of integrating dialogs and a more complete API?. One of my main objectives for my next project is to allow the user to select points and edges in his model.

Secondly, if I choose to go with the AddIn method, the .Net way seems to be strongly rejected by the main expert here (by the way thx for your awesome work Jason ). There seems to be a lot of problems related to .net development in AddIns. Could somebody just share a link or post some explanations about what are the disadvantages of using .net.

Thanks a lot !

David,