Adding new input devices to SE

Dear Sirs,

I am a researcher since long time in the field of Virtual and Augmented reality. My actual research is to test Vr devices into a SE working session. That's to say i want i.e. rotate the camera position using a spacemouse or similar.

basically i need an Add in which updates the camera position (next step the cursor) according data from my input device (code in c++).

I found on this forum a demo which seems helpful for rotating the camera, but it's in vb and i would like to have it in c++.

By the way the add in example in SE V19 does not work with my visual studio as crashes while converting the files to Vs2005, then no widzard are available on visual studio startup and i am not confident with ole, activex etc...

anybody has a solution for my problem?

any help will be great

thanks

Posted by: michele Fiorentino
Post date: 11/13/2007 6:25:16 AM

8 REPLIES

RE: Adding new input devices to SE

Attached is an example VC++ ATL addin for Solid Edge that does a little demonstration on how to move the camera.  There is a lot of math involved with doing it correctly and I by no means know how to do it correctly.  I co-developed the Astroid addin for Solid Edge with John Hilton.  John would probably be your best resource for this kind of project.

Unzip the attachment and open EventManager.cpp and look at the code starting at:

HRESULT CEventManager::XAddInEvents::raw_OnCommand( long nCmdID )

Let me know if there is anything else that I can do for you.

Posted by: Jason Newell
Post date: 11/13/2007 7:03:50 AM

thanks very much for the super fast answer!!

well out of the box the addin.h file was missing .. i replaced with one founded in the SE conference..

I got the following error:

1>.\AddIn.idl(54) : error MIDL2337 : unsatisfied forward declaration : ISEAddInEvents [ Coclass 'XAddInEvents' ]

it's the wrog file?

thanks a lot

Post date: 11/13/2007 9:28:38 AM