Batch Save As PDF

[ Edited ]

I have a folder full of .asm, .par, & .psm files. I need to export all these Solid Edge files to .pdf so that I can use them in a web application.

I need a Visual Basic .NET or C# script that will:1) Open each file one at a time2) Change the view orientation to ISO view (optional)3) Change the view style to Visible Edges (or possibly another view)4) Save this file as PDF using the same filename (example partname.par ->partname.pdf)

5) Close file and then open the next.

I am able to do this manually in Solid Edge, by going to Save As-> Save As Translated -> .pdf, so I'm assuming there is a way to do this using a script. (?)

I am a PHP web developer who is new to both Visual Basic .NET and Solid Edge, and I've attempted to make my way through this forum and the "Solid Edge .NET Programmer’s Guide ". But I'm striking out and am possibly approaching this all wrong.

So if anyone can help point me in the right direction (on how to do any of the steps above), that would be very much appreciated.

Posted by: Denver Steiner
Post date: 11/1/2010 8:55:38 AM

7 REPLIES

RE: Batch Save As PDF

[ Edited ]

Update on previous post, I came across SESpy, and this is helping.Imports System.Runtime.InteropServicesImports SolidEdgeFramework Module Module1 Sub Main() Dim objApplication As SolidEdgeFramework.Application = Nothing Dim objDocument As SolidEdgeFramework.SolidEdgeDocument = Nothing Try ' Connect to a running instance of Solid Edge. objApplication = Marshal.GetActiveObject("SolidEdge.Application") objDocument = objApplication.Documents.Open("C:\projects\SE_test\test.psm") objDocument.SaveCopyAs("C:\projects\SE_test\test.pdf") objDocument.Close Catch ex As Exception Console.WriteLine(ex.Message) Finally If Not (objDocument Is Nothing) Then Marshal.ReleaseComObject(objDocument) objDocument = Nothing End If If Not (objApplication Is Nothing) Then Marshal.ReleaseComObject(objApplication) objApplication = Nothing End If End Try End SubEnd Module