Create DFT file from ASM file

Hi there. I works with C# but I'm a very novice to SolidEdge system.

I'm interested is there any way to create a .DFT file from .ASM file using API functions?

Thanks

Posted by: Dennis Migachev
Post date: 1/12/2008 3:29:35 AM

4 REPLIES

RE: Create DFT file from ASM file

I do not use C#. Right now I am using vb6.

So far I have only created drawings using a template that already contains views and then I use revision manager api to change the link to the new file.

From looking at the api, if you want to add views to a new draft file you would probably:

- Add a filename to the modellinks collection

Set oModelLinkObj = DftDoc.Modellinks.Add(filename)

-Then add a view to DrawingViews collection using that model link and the named view.

DftSheet.DrawingViews.Add(oModelLinkObj , igFrontView,, dScale, x, y)

I hope that gets you on the right track.

Posted by: Carl Breving
Post date: 1/15/2008 5:47:59 AM

Hello Carl,

I am also trying to automate the drawings for various no. of .asm files. I am able to add views to a new draft view but when it comes to dimensioning,it becomes very critical to place dimensions on it. What i want to do is, i want to create a template file and just change the links to dft file. if you have have any code snippet for this can you help me out?

i am using SE v20, vb6, vb.net.

Many thanks in advance.

Posted by: Prasad Pawar
Post date: 1/20/2008 5:12:24 PM

There are many differences for every drawing. Some drawings may need section views but some are not. For simple revolved jobs, a single section view is enough.

hence logic building would be critical in this task.

If you have same kind of drawings (or repeated drawings), then it would be possible.

I am intrested for the solution from others.

Posted by: jaya priyan
Post date: 1/20/2008 8:28:29 PM

Hi Jaya,

Actually the procedure is like this:

1) Open an assembly file(master file), replace the parts, save it.