Document Superclass?

[ Edited ]

I'm pretty new to developing with the SE V19 API so I wanted to make sure there wasn't a class I was simply overlooking here. Is there a generic document superclass that can be used for call common to all the document types (e.g. Close, Save, GetProperties, GetFileName, etc.)? I do not know of any other way around duplicating the DocumentTypeConstants switch to make the same call on a varying object type.

Posted by: Adam Brenneis
Post date: 1/25/2007 7:39:52 AM

9 REPLIES

RE: Document Superclass?

[ Edited ]

Hi Adam and welcome.

See SolidEdgeFramework.SolidEdgeDocument. All Solid Edge COM Document's support this interface. See example code.

Dim objApp as SolidEdgeFramework.Application

dim objDocument as SolidEdgeFramework.SolidEdgeDocument

Dim objAssembly as SolidEdgeAssembly.AssemblyDocument

' Assuming we have an Assembly open in Solid Edge

'These all should work.

Set objDocument = objApp.ActiveDocument

Set objAssembly = objApp.ActiveDocument

Set objDocument = objAssembly

Set objAssembly = objDocument

Let me know if you still need help.

Posted by: Jason Newell
Post date: 1/25/2007 7:45:03 AM

[ Edited ]

This is definately the right direction. I'm not entirely sure how your VB example would map to C++. I have seen some examples here and there of creating objects using the "SolidEdgeFramework.AssemblyDocument" type syntax. I don't quite understand how to give the compiler a class that can accept Parts, Drafts, and Assemblies and allow the common calls to pass through to the proper type.

I'm working with a VS6 project created by the wizard included with V19. The only API classes I'm aware of are those defined in the framewrk.tlh

Post date: 1/25/2007 8:13:09 AM

[ Edited ]

C++ ??? Why didn't you say so .

That's my favorite language right now. I can definately help you but it will have to be later tonight. I don't have VC++ 6 but I do have VC++ 2005. It should be close enough that I can give you an example.