Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Get Solid Edge Edge ID from Drafting View

Creator
Creator

Hi,

I am writing a small programme, Where I am creating the PMI Dimension corresponding to Drafting Dimension.

Drafting dimension - -> Refernce edges --> PMI Dimension

I am not able to get the actual dimension reference edges from drafting. I am getting refernces as DVLine2d, DVArc2d etc. I want to know how can I use this to create a PMI dimension using these references.

I am writing code in C#.net

I am new to solid edge development. I am having experience in NX and Catia Development. 

Thanks in advance.

18 REPLIES

Re: Get Solid Edge Edge ID from Drafting View

Solution Partner Phenom Solution Partner Phenom
Solution Partner Phenom

The DVLine2d, etc objects have a ModelMember property which gives basic information from where the line comes from, e.g. DesignBody of PartX. You won't get more detailed information about its origin. The ModelMember object has the ModelNode.FileName property, which leads you to the source file of the line.

It is then up to you, to find the corresponding edge in the design model of that document.

NOTE: There is NO direct link between a 3D edge and DVLine2d, DVArc2d, etc objects!

Creator
Creator

Thanks Martin. 

So you mean the dimension reference in the drafting does not have any direct relation to the 3d edge of a part.

is there any way I can determine the part edge to which the drafting dimensions are attached to?

Solution Partner Phenom

There is no 1:1 mapping between 3d edge and 2d line, but based on the 2d projected coordinates of the lines and the orientation of the drawing view, you may limit the possible candidate for the 3d edge associated to a specific DVLine2d.

NOTE: a DVLine2d object does NOT necessarily map to a linear edge in 3d!