How to extract data from a .asm file

Hi guys,

I'm totally new to Solid Edge and its API but I do have experience in programming (java, vb, c++).  

I'm looking for a way to extract (via script/API but not manually) the information from a .asm and/or .par document.

In other words, I'd like to choose a .asm file and to be able to extract (into an xml file as instance) the information about this assembly and its content.  And if the assembly contains sub-assemblies, then to perform the same recursive algorithm in order to get to all parts.  

I want to be able to display the assembly tree like this (with all the informations (part#, qty, description, ...)):

-ASM1

- PART1

- PART2

- SUB_ASM1

- PART3

- PART4

- SUB_ASM2

- PART5

-PART6

I guess I'm not the first one that needs to do such a thing.  What would be the best way to do so according to you?  From the research I did, RevisionManager API could be the solution...

Thank you very much.

10 REPLIES

Re: How to extract data from a .asm file

Continuing from your previous reply in the SE forum:

======================================================

Thank's a lot for your answer, I thinkI get it.

Just one little thing, when you do this:

Set oApp = GetObject(, "SolidEdge.Application")
    Set oDoc = oApp.ActiveDocument

Is SolidEdge opened? I guess it is, otherwise, what would ActiveDocument refer to...

But if I don't want SolidEdge to be opened?  Let's say, I have a folder with all my .asm and .par and I wanna loop into all of them (like a batch script)?

How would I open the document?  Is there a method like this?

Set oDoc = oApp.GetDocument("c:\SolidEdge\assembly1234.asm")

Thank's.

======================================================

I assume you are using .Net, especialy VB.Net.

You should use this statement at the top:

Imports System.Runtime.Interopservices

From this namespace, use the Marshal class' GetActiveObject method:

oApp = Marshal.GetActiveObject("SolidEdge,Application")