How to invoke SolidEdge using C#

[ Edited ]

Hi Everyone,

I am a Newbie to customization of SolidEdge. I am using C# as coding language. I need to invoke SolidEdge and can be done by

type = Type.GetTypeFromProgID("SolidEdge.Application");

seApp = (SolidEdgeFramework.Application)Activator.CreateInstance(type); seApp.Visible = true;

But what if i had more than one version of SolidEdge installed in my System and i wanted to invoke a particular version (Assume that i am having the SolidEdge Executable path for each version).

Thanks in Advance,

Regards

Venkata Ramesh V

Posted by: Venkata Ramesh Virodhula
Post date: 6/28/2011 11:48:20 PM

6 REPLIES

RE: How to invoke SolidEdge using C#

[ Edited ]

Venkata,

that's not possible since all Solid Edge COM objects are registered version neutral. The utility MakeCurrVer.exe (under the program folder of each Solid Edge installation) is the only way to "switch" between different versions of Solid Edge installed on a single system.

Posted by: Wolfgang Kunert
Post date: 6/29/2011 10:01:45 PM

[ Edited ]

Thanks for the reply Wolfgang. So if i opened two different versions in my system then used

seApp = (SolidEdgeFramework.Application)Marshal.GetActiveObject("SolidEdge.Application");

to which version it will connects to ?

(I don't have two installations in my system, so i am not able to check this. So first tell me one thing will it be possible  to open two different versions of SolidEdge in any system at a time , atleast manually by clicking the exe files)

Thanks & Regards

Venkata Ramesh V

Post date: 6/30/2011 12:33:41 AM

[ Edited ]

Venkata,

as i already said, only one Solid Edge installation is current (the last one installed). To make another installed version current you have to execute the tool MakeCurrVer.exe from within the program folder of the Solid Edge version you want to make the current version.

Posted by: Wolfgang Kunert
Post date: 6/30/2011 1:21:21 AM

[ Edited ]