Macro for exporting a curve coordinates to excel

Hello!

Since I have no experience with programming, I hope that someone here on the forum can help me with this problem.

I would need a x,y,z coordinates of a Solid Edge curve exported to Excel.
1. curve is created with any kind of curve command (curve in sketch, keypoint, intersection, project, cross, etc.)
2. reference coordinate system is created by the user
3. x,y,z coordinates of curve, according to this reference coordinate system should be exported to excel

How I think, such a macro should work:
1. user is selecting this new macro/command
2. user is now selecting one curve or all curves
3. user can select the number of points on the curve. At least 500 points should be exported. If more curves are selected, then every curve has the same number of points.
4. point should be equaly distributed along the curve
5. now, xyz coordinates are exported to Excel

Format of exported curves in Excel:
1. cell A1 is name of the curve (name of the curve in Pathfinder)
2. from second row on there are xyz coordinates (first column is x, second column is y and third is z column)

3. all exported curves are copied in the same sheet. So, after the last coordinate, new curve is written (first the name of the curve, then all the coordinates).

If this is possible to create, I would really appreciate.
If it is to much work to do for such a macro and can not be created for free, let me know.

Thanks.
Kind Regards.

13 REPLIES

Re: Macro for exporting a curve coordinates to excel

The macro you are asking is surely possible but it would require an ammount of time to develop it.

My main concerns are about your point 4.
I had a look at SDK and it seem to be possible, but it will need some time to develop it correctly.

Eventually PM me for further infos.

Francesco

[ Edited ]

I have done this before. It's a piece of cake.

Can make the macro both free (for personal use) and paid (if you are a reseller).

~Tushar