Solved! Go to solution

ST8 / VBA : setting dimension upper and lower tolerance not working

Hi All

I'm a newbie to programming Solid Edge.  I've been given the task up updating some Excel VBA code to work with ST8.  It's currently working fine with an older version of Edge (ST3 or 4).  All seems good, except for some lines that are supposed to set the upper and lower tolerance on the draft file dimensions, for example:

Set objDims = objSheet.Dimensions

Set objDim = objDims.Item(i)

objDim.PrimaryUpperTolerance = dblUpperTol
      objDim.PrimaryLowerTolerance = dblLowerTol

If I read the dimension tolerance properties back after setting them like this, they show the updated values, but nothing changes in the draft file.

I've tried using strings like "0.05 mm" instead of the double precision variables, but that doesn't work either.

What has changed between ST3/4 and ST8 that affects this behaviour?

Thanks in advance!

Steve

8 REPLIES

Re: ST8 / VBA : setting dimension upper and lower tolerance not working

[ Edited ]

There was a change in Tolerances in some version which I can not recall.  The tolerance can now be a text tolerance or a value..   "Alpha" or "Unit" Tolerence.     Looks like SolidEdgeFrameworkSupport.Dimension has property "Type"  that specifies the Tolerence type...

Take a look at DimDispTypeConstants:

"Unit Tol"  =  Constant igDimDisplayTypeUnitTolerance = 15

"Alpha Tol" = Constant igDimDisplayTypeTolerance = 2

HTH

6-1-2017 10-19-42 AM.png

===================================================
Matt Johnson
Solid Edge Certified Professional (ST7 & ST8)
Solid Edge ST9 (SEEC) - Production
NX10 (Tc Integration) Pre-Production Testing
Teamcenter 10.1.6

[ Edited ]

Also, I believe that legacy drawing will be set to "Alpha" by default. so I assume that sending the DBL may be your issue unless you convert the objdim type to "Unit"  or leave it as "Alpha" and try sending a txt string "0.5"

Matt Johnson
Teamcenter 10.1.6