Simply way to figure out which drawing view a dimension (or any other annotation object) belongs

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the Solid Edge API and am wondering if there's an easy way to figure out whether a dimension, textbox, weldsymbol, etc. belongs to a particular drawing view on a sheet. I believe this topic was brought up a while back where using the GetRelated method on the dimension might be one route to eventually figure it out but I did not see a clear resolution on all the steps needed to actually make it work in the end.

Any suggestions would be appreciated....

Figuring it out for dimensions would the most important for now but hopefully the idea can be extended to the other annotation types.

Thanks,

Mark

Posted by: Mark Nalevanko
Post date: 6/16/2009 5:49:44 AM

6 REPLIES

RE: Simply way to figure out which drawing view a dimension (or any other annotation object) belongs

I noticed there's a RetrieveDimensions method on the dimension interface but I don't understand how it can be utilized as it does not return any objects ????

Post date: 6/16/2009 5:51:19 AM

RE: Simply way to figure out which drawing view a dimension (or any other annotation object) belongs

Sorry but I meant the RetrieveDimensions method is on the DrawingView interface

Post date: 6/16/2009 5:52:20 AM

Hi Mark,

Forget about RetrieveDimensions. Getrelated is what you are looking for.

here is a VBNet example, copy and paste in a form: