What is SolidEdgeContrib in Nuget? How do I get started?

Besides that, I'm an experienced developer trying to get a handle on the tools in SolidEdge.  I'm finding the standard documentation very terse, and the online contributions very scattered.  This project is an example.  It exists, but it's not explained.  I still don't have a clear idea of where I should start, except to just use search tools extensively and try to hack bits and pieces into a program.

5 REPLIES

Re: What is SolidEdgeContrib in Nuget? How do I get started?

Alan,

Welcome to the community and thanks for your questions. I'll try to answer each one and add additional information where possible. First, I'll give you some helpful links.

"What is SolidEdgeContrib in Nuget?"

I created the SolidEdgeContrib NuGet package while working on the Samples for Solid Edge on CodePlex. The reason that I created it was because I found myself writing common code over and over again. I realized that I could save myself and other a lot of time if I would package up the common code into a package that we could all reuse.

The description of the NuGet package states: "Community provided package that enhances custom Solid Edge development. Solid Edge Interop types (Interop.SolidEdge NuGet package) are embedded and ready to use. Community developed helper classes, extensions methods, etc. are the core of this package."

"How do I get started?"

The Samples for Solid Edge on CodePlex was created to address that exact question. I discuss it in this blog post. Spy for Solid Edge will also help you learn the API as described in this blog post.

"I'm finding the standard documentation very terse"