Solved! Go to solution

Adjustable part that wont adjust

I have another part that works flavesly in part environment but when inserted in an assembly wont adjust.

Anybody have an explanation ?

Is it because adjustable multibody parts are not supposed to exist ? if this is true why Solid Edge let me do it ?

In final, any way to solve it ?

Thanks

25 REPLIES

Re: Adjustable part that wont adjust

I assume you right clicked on the part, made it adjustable by selecting adjustable in "simplified/adjustable", and assigned an assembly level variable to drive the variable in the part. You have to create a variable in the assembly to assign to the part variable in the "edit adjustable part" dialog. Make sure the part variable is locked in the part if the variable is a dimension. Then change the assembly variable to drive the part.

I'm a little new to using adj parts so if I'm mistaken in anything I hope somebody chimes in.

Bruce Shand
ST9 MP7 - Insight - Win10 - K4200

bshand wrote:

I assume you right clicked on the part, made it adjustable by selecting adjustable in "simplified/adjustable", and assigned an assembly level variable to drive the variable in the part. You have to create a variable in the assembly to assign to the part variable in the "edit adjustable part" dialog. Make sure the part variable is locked in the part if the variable is a dimension. Then change the assembly variable to drive the part.

I'm a little new to using adj parts so if I'm mistaken in anything I hope somebody chimes in.

Yes, that's exactly how to you use an adjustable part (you can also type the value in the dialog without the need to connect it to a variable).

What I don't understand is why the part in attachment doesn't adjust.

Does it work at your side ?

[ Edited ]

I can't edit the angle value in the "edit adjustable part" dialog. What dialog do you mean?

Anyway, I also can't adjust it with an assy variable, only directly in peer variables.