Solved! Go to solution

Assembly of multiple surfaces

Hello,

I am new to the Solid Edge, before been working with the Inventor mostly. 

The project I am working on consists of several plane layers, which are ment to be glued together. Now how can one design that in the Solid Edge ?  

In Inventor I would create a sketch as a guide. 

Best regards,

Artemy 

9 REPLIES

Re: Assembly of multiple surfaces

[ Edited ]

Hi Artemy, Welcome to the Solid Edge forum.

If you have been using reference planes in Inventor previously, creating similar ones in Solid Edge is equally easy,

You can start with using Extrude surfaces from sketches and there is a whole array of Surfacing features on the ribbon you can use from:

Finally you can use the Stitched Surface command to 'glue' the surfaces which may result in a solid body depending upon the tolerance and the nature of the surfaces glued.

If you could post some images of what the 'plane layers' you intend to use look like and also the sketches, that would be helpful in guiding you further.

~Tushar

www.SurfAndCode.in

[ Edited ]

@artemyp

It would be helpful if you could either show us what you're trying to do, or better yet send some files. This way the folks here on the forum can better understand your question. I'm guessing here, but this might be a start.

There is a way to Copy surfaces from other parts and use them in a NEW part... then you can make them into a "glued together" body.

First you need to import a copy of the part and grab the faces you want to use.

Then you can grab which faces you want to use.

This will create a Surface to work with... You can import as many Part/Faces as needed.

But again show us what you're trying  to do and we'll get you a better answer.

Bob

[ Edited ]

Unfortunately I can't upload the files, but here is an example:

I have the plastic base (PC base), and I have an adhesive layer (Rear adhesive).