AutoCAD 3D model import and conversion

Creator
Creator

I have a number of AutoCAD 2007 3D models I want to import and modify in SE (I bought them as a package also with 2D drawings)

I can import them okay but want to know how I can then modify.  Attached is a shot of a frame I have that I want to be able to manipulate and change.  At the moment it is just 'dumb solids' I think.

Ideally I'd like to be able to convert it to a wire frame and set up relationships / connections and then frame it with SE frame.  I have 7 models so if there was an automated solution it would help a lot.

This buggy has 800+ parts to it.  Most won't need changing and smaller stuff I can redraw or edit, its the frame i'm struggling with.

Any ideas?  At the moment I am trying to redraw from 2D drawings but there seems to be some dimensioning issues.

I'm a CAD novice/intermediate.

Thanks in advance.

www.rorty.net
Using ST9
3 REPLIES

Re: AutoCAD 3D model import and conversion

Genius
Genius

Rorty,

There are many ways to come to a result...

But first of all

Are you working in ST or Trad. environment.

If you want to use the full potential of direct modeling in SE I would advice using ST.

But if you are not used to work with ST you also can do quite a bit in the traditional env. 

Just use modify tools ( I call them push/pull tools Man Wink)

Or you can use the feature recognition tools in ST.

Sadly Siemens pulled the FR tools out of the traditional environment.

Second

Why do you want to pull the whole frame in the framing tool of SE ? (It's possible...)

You already have an asm ? And weldments can be...still applied

There is not one MCAD system in the world that's able to reverse engineer a frame asm from one MCAD frame module to another frame module if that's what you search for...

Last

Assembly constraints can be applied automated with Assembly relationship assistent if you want to.

You can even apply your own preferred contstraints if you want to.