Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Boat design woes

Experimenter
Experimenter

Hi I am brand new to solid edge.

To give a little of my background, interests and what I hope to achieve.I am mad about sailboats.

Built my own cnc router table (1200mm x 1200mm workspace with between 60 - 70mm Zaxis).

Started cad drawing with turbocad for 2D renderings. Eventually using solidworks12 and sketchup for 3D renderings.

I have a set of boat plans which supplies a table of offsets from which the hull shape is developed. This I reduced to obtain a 1:5 scale version with the aim of carving a 3D half hull from the offsets.

Using solidworks, I was able to plot the offsets into individual frames placed on individual planes through the hull's length ( each plane representing the frame stations). I was then able to connect the points plotted with 3D sketching after which I was able to skin the hull giving me a solid model from which I was able to create g-code from.

A year or so ago I managed to do this as a 10th scale model using solidworks and artcam express for g-gode generation.

From this I managed to cut a fairly decent half hull, although not perfect as I found the motor controller board was missing steps and eventually replaced the contol board. The computer running the router table had solidworks installed, but decided to give up the ghost. The computer was and old one with parallel ports with which to send signal to to motor contollers. I am in the process of replacing the computer.

At present I am trying to get up to speed with solid edge by I suppose jumping in the deep end in my learnership of solidedge.

I am hoping there is some kind person out there who is able to assist me in plotting out the table of offsets.

A sort of digital lofting out of the lines.

Regards

7 REPLIES

Betreff: Boat design woes

Esteemed Contributor
Esteemed Contributor

Hi @Gazza

welcome at the Solid Edge Community!