Solved! Go to solution

Bolt Hole Circles by a Luddite

I am new to CAD, and have a basic knowledge of computers.  

Like many of us in small business, I have discovered that in order to get simple parts made, it is much simpler to have a CAD drawing file to take to the shop that burns parts out of plate, machine shops, and other metalworking shops.  I decided to try Solid Edge 2D to make these drawings.

I decided to draw a simple wheel adapter.  This involves a piece of 3/8" steel plate with a round center hole and a circular outside diameter.  It has two bolt circles, one 8 on 6" and one 5 on 11.25".  It is that simple.  Unfortunately, in Solid Edge it is not that simple!

SE 2D does not have a command to make bolt circles.  In order to make a bolt circle, you first have to lay out the holes, then use the "bolt hole circle" annotation to define the circle.  So how do you lay out the holes?  

There are numerous threads in this forum regarding "Bolt Hole Circle."  Unfortunately, these  posts are no help because the critical information is no longer present in them.  The links no longer work.  This is a problem that I will try to address in my post.

I make no claim to having any CAD talent, so my approach may not be the correct one.  It did make the two bolt patterns correctly.

I started by making two layers, Part Edges and Holes.  In the Part Edges layer I laid out the inner diameter and outer diameter of the part, including the dimensions.  This was very easy, using the "Circle by Center Point" command.  I annotated the dimensions using the "Distance Between" and "Callout" commands.